Maryland DUI Attorney Assistance With New Drunk Driving Laws For Alcohol Related Auto Offenses

Maryland DUI Attorney Assistance With New Drunk Driving Laws For Alcohol Related Auto Offenses




If you have been charged with driving under the influence in the state of Maryland, you need all the help you can get – this is where the assistance of a Maryland DUI attorney can help mitigate the damage.

Are you aware of your rights under Maryland law if charged with driving under the influence? New Maryland drunk driving laws recently took effect so make sure you acquire the assistance of a DUI attorney in the state if you need to know how these laws will impact your case.

If This Is Your First Offenses

Under new Maryland drunk driving laws that took effect on 1 October 2009, if you are convicted of drunk driving for the first time and your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was over .08, you could be sentenced to a jail term of up to a year and fined as much as $1000. If you were transporting a minor at the time of the offense, these penalties can be doubled. In addition, your driving privileges will be suspended for a minimum of six months.

later Offenses

Fines and jail sentences increase significantly after the first conviction. After a third conviction, the offender faces a $3000 fine, three years in jail and loss of driving privileges for a minimum of eighteen months. If however, the offender was transporting a minor at the time, jail terms and fines are increased by one-third (so, $4000 and four years). The greater penalties also apply if injury or death is involved – in addition to any criminal or civil penalties.

Stricter Standards

Minors and commercial drivers are held to much stricter standards when it comes to driving and alcohol.

In the state of Maryland, it is illegal for persons under the age of 21 years to possess or consume alcoholic beverages. consequently, a minor can be charged and convicted for drunk driving if any amount of alcohol is found in the system; a BAC level of .02 carries a $500 fine. In addition, the individual faces minor-in-possession charges.

Because of their responsibility for public safety, commercial drivers are also unprotected to lower BAC limits; .04 is sufficient to warrant conviction on a drunk driving charge.

Other Things to Know

Although the Constitution states that one is innocent of a crime until proven guilty in a court of law, Maryland’s Implied Consent law provides for what amounts to a legal exception when it comes to drunk driving offenses. If stopped on suspicion of drunk driving, you have the right to refuse to submit to testing (blood, breath or urine); however, your driving privileges are automatically revoked for a period of four months for the first refusal and one year for later refusals.

Maryland DUI Attorney Assistance

In Maryland, DUI and DWI situations are handled on the county level, and procedures vary from one county to the next. It is consequently important to get counsel from a legal specialized who is familiar with the courts of the county in question.

A Maryland DUI attorney may be able to get your driving privileges restored under certain conditions; for example, you may be allowed to excursion to and from work if you install an interlock (a device that disables a car’s ignition if alcohol is present in the driver’s system). You may also avoid jail time for a first offense by enrolling in an alcohol treatment program.




leave your comment

Top